Fresh Food Thursday | Pumpkin Buttermilk Pancakes

I LOVE PUMPKIN!!! And I welcome November with open arms and pumpkin pancakes!! This is, by far, the best recipe I’ve found yet. It most clearly mimics that of iHop’s pumpkin pancakes, which are AMAZING! I also like to double or triple pancake recipes in order to chill them, then toast them for breakfast throughout the week.

Also, I didn’t photograph the process of these pancakes. I made them after church on Sunday, and was STARVED! Since photographing food means it takes double the amount of time to make my food … well .. that didn’t happen. But this was so good, I had to post the recipe anyway.

Without further ado, bring on the breakfast!!

Pumpkin Buttermilk Pancakes
Original recipe found here, though I’ve tweaked it, and the double version is listed below.

2 c. all-purpose flour
1/3 c. white sugar
1/4 c. brown sugar
2 1/2 T. baking powder
2 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. ginger
1/2 tsp. cloves
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1 T. cinnamon
2 c. buttermilk (Side Note: normal grocery store buttermilk does nothing for me. I don’t taste a difference when I use it, and it isn’t as good as REAL buttermilk. Homestead Creamery buttermilk, found at Kroger and Whole Food Markets. This stuff is THICK, like Greek yogurt, and it’s the real deal. Try it once, and you’ll never go back. Promise.)
3 T. milk
2 T. oil
2 eggs
1 15-oz of pure, pureed pumpkin

Mix dry ingredients together. Whisk milks, oil, and egg. Then add pumpkin to the wet mixture and mix. Add wet ingredients to the dry and combine. Taste the batter to make sure it’s spiced well enough. I ended up adding extra spices before flapping my jacks, but I like things spicier. Do your own taste-test. Cook and serve with maple syrup, whipped cream, and nutmeg. And, of course, COFFEE!

Leave a Reply

