Fresh Food Thursday | Pumpkin Rum Truffles

Back when I made my tiramisu recipe, I used a little bit of rum. Well, I had some left over (and still do), so I’ve been looking for other recipes to use this stuff up.

That’s where this recipe came into my life.

Pumpkin Rum Truffles

Ingredients
5 1/2 oz semisweet chocolate chips
small piece of butter
2 T rum
1 3/4 shredded coconut (optional)
3 1/2 oz cake crumbs (Use any flavor. I used last week’s pumpkin muffins. Double if you aren’t using coconut)
6 T confectioners’ sugar
2 T unsweetened cocoa

Directions
1. Melt chocolate and butter in a heavy-bottom pan. To ensure it doesn’t burn, place pan in larger pan filled with water. Bring water to boil.
2. Remove from heat and whisk in rum. Stir in coconut, cake crumbs, and 4 T of confectioners’ sugar.
3. Chill mixture until it can be rolled into small balls, about 30–45 minutes. Place rolled mixture on baking parchment and chill until firm.
4. Strain the remaining confectioners’ sugar unto a bowl. Strain cocoa into another bowl. Roll half the truffles in sugar and the other half in cocoa until fully coated. OR mix the sugar and cocoa and roll truffles in that mixture. I think I might opt for that version next time I make these.

Keep chilled and enjoy with espresso or any other warm, delicious drink!!





Leave a Reply

