Letterpress Printing for Escape Creative

So, I’m not sure that I ever mentioned this, but I just completed a 12-week internship in Richmond where I learned a bit of front-end web design.

Ok.
More than a bit.
A lot.
It’s all jammed in my head somewhere trying to creatively get out. I’ll work on that later, though.

For now, let’s get back to the internship. It was with a company called Escape Creative which, until recently, consisted of a guy named Dave. Now it’s Dave and Joanna, and it’s so wonderful there are two of them now because they are REALLY busy! And since they’re so busy, in exchange for them taking the time to teach me web design, I took time to photograph them and their clients AND create print pieces for them to use. So, maybe we actually had more of an “exchange-ternship” … is that a thing?

It is now.

One of the pieces I made for them was business cards, which we had letterpress printed by Benjamin Franklin Printing Company in Richmond, VA. They were wonderful to work with and, from what I gather, the end result was great! This was a whole new experience for me, and the guys at Franklin were kind enough to walk me through the process before-hand, so that my artwork would meet their requirements, and then again during the printing so that I could check everything … and take photos. I had never letterpressed anything or even seen it done. I mean, I learned about the process when I was in school, but that’s so different from actually doing it! Which is why I don’t go into much detail about the process. I’ll provide minimal commentary and let you enjoy the photos. One side note: I was only there for the application of 1 of the 2 colors, and I didn’t see the finished product until later. Meaning … there isn’t a photo of that. OOPS!!

OH! P.S. Throughout the next couple of weeks, you’ll be seeing a few photo shoots for Escape Creative and their clients. Stay tuned!!

This is the gray-colored “stamp” used to imprint the second design/ color into the paper. The first color, orange, has different artwork and is applied first. You’ll see that one photographed.

You can see the rollers on the bottom left. They had rolled in the orange ink (on the big plate), then over the stamp to where you see them now. The metal stamp is then pressed into the paper (photo underneath). To the right, you can see the printer checking to make sure everything is aligned before he starts quickly going through all 300 cards.



Leave a Reply

