Fresh Food Thursday | Tiramisu

It’s been a few weeks since you’ve heard from me, hasn’t it? In all honesty, the last few posts you saw from me were done earlier this summer while I was still living in Lexington. Thank God for scheduled publishing!

But it’s also taken a little while to learn my new kitchen and want to cook in it … does anyone else get that mentality? Or is it just me? I still may rearrange my kitchen so it makes more sense to me, but I’m slowly getting there …

With that, I’m finally feeling settled in overall, and just in time too! We had company last weekend, so for dessert I made tiramisu; one of my favorite desserts. I decided it was time to do some documenting and photograph my process. So glad I did because the end result was definitely something worth sharing!

Tiramisu
from Better Homes & Gardens Cookbook

1 recipe Hot Milk Sponge Cake (listed below)
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 T instant espresso coffee powder/instant coffee crystals (I used 2 shots of espresso)
2 T rum
2 8-oz cartons mascarpone cheese or cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup sifted powdered sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
2 oz. semisweet chocolate, grated or .5 oz. cocoa powder
1 cup whipping cream
2 T coffee liqueur or strong coffee
1/2 oz semisweet chocolate, grated

Instructions

1. Chill medium mixing bowl and beaters of an electric mixer.

2. Prepare Hot Milk Sponge Cake, but grease and flour bottom of pan & cool completely on wire rack.

3. For syrup, in a small saucepan, combine granulated sugar, espresso/ espresso coffee powder, and 1/3 cup water. Cook over medium heat until boiling. Boil for 1 minute. Remove from heat, stir in rum. Cool completely. So, I’ve made this a few times, and each time I have to make more of the sauce to moisten the cake. I recommend tripling this step of the recipe.

4. For filling, in medium bowl stir together mascarpone/ cream cheese, powdered sugar, and vanilla. Stir in grated chocolate/ cocoa powder.

5. To assemble, evenly cut cake horizontally into 3 layers. Layer cake either in cake pan or trifle bowl (as I’ve done) with cake, brush on 1/3 syrup, 1/2 of the filling; cake, 1/3 syrup, 1/2 filling; cake, 1/3 syrup, and whipped cream.

6. Prepare whipped cream in chilled mixing bowl by whipping the cream, liqueur, and (I add) powdered sugar to taste. Whip on medium speed until soft peaks form. Layer on top of tiramisu and top with either grated chocolate or sifted cocoa powder. NOTE: I made my whipped cream with whipping cream, rum, and powdered sugar. You can just use plain whipped cream as well. Honestly, it’s your dessert, so finish it off however you want!

Hot Milk Sponge Cake

Ingredients
2 eggs
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup milk
2 T butter

Instructions
1. Allow eggs to stand at room temp for 30 minutes. Meanwhile, grease & flour 9x9x2″ pan; set aside. Stir together flour & baking powder; set aside.

2. In medium mixing bowl, beat eggs with an electric mixer on high speed for about 4 minutes or until thick. Gradually add sugar, beating on medium speed for 4-5 minutes or until light and fluffy. Add flour mixture; beat on low-medium speed just until combined.

3. In a small saucepan heat and stir milk and butter until butter melts; add to batter, beating until combined. Pour batter into prepared pan.

4. Bake at 350 degrees for 20–25 minutes or until wooden toothpick inserted near center comes out clean. Cool cake in pan for 10 minutes, then remove and cool completely on wire rack.








One thought on “Fresh Food Thursday | Tiramisu

  1. Pingback: Fresh Food Thursday | Pumpkin Rum Truffles « Brown Photography

Leave a Reply

