Fresh Food Thursday | Black Bean Soup

This is another original Sarah Brown recipe. It’s the easiest soup recipe EVER!!!

The first time I made black bean soup, I think I used a recipe, but after that, I realized that it’s really hard to mess up. Now I pretty much just toss in whatever appropriate veggies I happen to have on hand. Sometimes it’s more of a thick chili, and other times is thin and soupy. But it’s always good. Except that one time when all the chicken broth bullion fell into the blender. It was still good, but it was WAY TOO SALTY! Every time I ate a little bit of that batch, my fingers swelled up and I couldn’t get my rings off. Oi. Lesson learned.

p.s. There is nothing bad in this soup. It’s really healthy and packed with a ton of flavor and goodness.

Black Bean Soup
Suggested Ingredients
3-4 cans of black beans, unrinsed (If you have a can of beans that isn’t black, that’s ok. We can use it instead of black beans. I’ve used kidney beans before, and it’s been great!)
1-2 large ripe tomatoes, quartered, or 1 can of diced tomatoes
1 onion, halved
2 garlic cloves, smashed
1–2 jalapenos (halved and seeded, unless you want a lot of kick!)
4 cups chicken broth

Directions
Combine at least 2 cans of beans (if you have a can of beans that isn’t black beans, this is where you use it), tomatoes, onion, garlic, jalapeno, and 1-2 cups of chicken broth in a blender. To thicken the soup, add more beans. To thicken it more, try some corn starch. I’ve also combined the beans and veggies in a food processor first, which refines it to make it pasty and thick, but it adds an extra step since you still have to combine it with most of the broth in the blender. I’ve since cut that step out.

Pour mixture into a large pot, add the rest of the chicken broth and 1-2 cans of whole black beans. Stir, heat, and serve!

Enjoy this meal with a dollop of cottage cheese or sour cream (especially if you made yours with a lot of kick!) and crackers.


One thought on “Fresh Food Thursday | Black Bean Soup

  1. Pingback: Fresh Food Thursday | Cheesy Chicken Tomato Basil Soup « Brown Photography

Leave a Reply

