Fresh Food Thursday | Healthy Chicken Lasagna

Happy Thursday!!

So, I love lasagna! My mom makes the best ground beef lasagna, so I’m not even going to try and compete with that! Instead, I’ll make my own mark when it comes to lasagna, and I think I’ve found it. I can honestly say that this one is my own recipe. When I first made a chicken lasagna, I thought I’d try a Runner’s World recipe, but it was — oddly enough — not even CLOSE to healthy, and with so much cheese, I want to keep things as light as possible, while still maintaining amazing flavor! At least the RW version inspired this creation. I hope you enjoy it as much as Tyler and I do; but feel free to adapt it to your own tastes and needs!

Healthy Chicken Lasagna

Ingredients
1 box lasagna noodles, uncooked
1 jar tomato sauce (your choice)
1 can diced tomatoes
1 lb chicken, cooked & diced
24 oz tub of cottage cheese, low fat
15 oz tub of ricotta, low fat
1 1/2 tsp dried basil
1 tsp oregano
2 garlic cloves, diced
2 eggs
1/2 cup chicken broth
2 cups shredded, part-skim mozarella

Directions
1. Mix tomato sauce & diced tomatoes, set aside. (I don’t care much for super thick tomato sauce, so I nearly always mix it with a can of diced tomatoes, or 2-3 fresh tomatoes, skinned and diced, to thin the sauce out and add some fresh veggie goodness). If you like sauce how it is, feel free to leave it alone.

2. Combine cooked chicken, cottage cheese, ricotta, basil, organo, garlic, eggs, and chicken broth. This mixture will be runny! If you don’t want it to be quite as runny you can add more ricotta or not add as much cottage cheese.

3. Layer the lasagna in a 9×13 over-safe pan, starting with the sauce to keep the noodles from sticking to the pan … OH! SIDE NOTE: You don’t ever need to cook lasagna noodles. You can buy the no-boil noodles, but you don’t have to! I use regular, Kroger-brand noodles and I never cook them. They’ll cook in the oven! It makes life SO EASY! END SIDE NOTE..

Ok. So, layers: sauce, noodles, cheese, sauce, noodles, cheese, sauce …. you get the idea. I only did two layers of noodles because I didn’t have enough (OOPS!), but Ideally you’d have three layers.

4. Top the lasagna off with mozarella. Cover. Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour. For a crispy, cheesey top crust, remove tin foil after baking and broil for 5 minutes or until golden brown.

Enjoy with a side salad and garlic bread!





Leave a Reply

