Fresh Food Thursday | Enchilada-Burrito Babies

Happy Thursday!

First of all, I have to admit that I totally just made up the name of this dish. My sister-in-law Alyson is the one who passed it on to me, and in her title, she calls these “Chicken ‘Enchiladas’ (Burritos)” thus signifying that she knows there’s a difference while I, a simpleton, do not. Hence, my updated name reflects her distinction.

And please forgive my photos; the night I made these, Tyler and I had company to share them with. Once everyone got here, I completely, 100% forgot to plate and photograph them. You won’t see a “finished” product. Since I know you all have such vivid imaginations, however, I’m sure you can visualize melted cheese and crispy, golden brown tortillas.

Enchilada-Burrito Babies

Ingredients
2 lbs. cooked, chopped chicken (canned chicken works just fine, if you’re into that sort of thing)
14 oz. or more salsa of your choice
1 small can chopped green chilis
2 cups monterey jack cheese (or part skim mozzarella works just fine, as well)
1 can enchilada sauce (optional)
1 small carton heavy whipping cream (Aly uses this; I do not.)
1 package flour tortillas

As a side note: you can add or subtract any item to or from this list. I sometimes add black beans, cooked rice, corn, peppers, onions, etc. You don’t have to, but you are free to alter this any way you like. Fish or beef would also be excellent instead of chicken!

Directions
Heat oven to 350. Mix chicken, salsa, chilis, and 1 1/5 cup cheese. Dip tortillas in whipping cream, coat (optional, but if the tortillas are too brittle for a successful wrap, microwave each one for 4–6 seconds immediately before stuffing and wrapping). Fill with chicken mixture and fold shut. Place in 9×13″ baking pan. Pour enchilada sauce over stuffed burrito babies (optional), sprinkle with remaining cheese and bake at 350 for 20 minutes.

It’s such an easy meal, and it really is a crown pleaser! If you haven’t noticed, it’s also super hard to mess up. Adapt it to your taste and enjoy!

Clearly I shop at Giant Eagle ;-)




Leave a Reply

