Fresh Food Thursday | Strawberry-Buttermilk Sherbet

For this week’s Fresh Food Thursday, I searched and searched for a recipe to use up the last of my buttermilk. I had a lot to use before it went sour, but I didn’t want to make something terrible for me, like a cobbler or biscuits or something. I know buttermilk in and of itself isn’t the healthiest item, but that doesn’t mean every meal made with it has to leave you feeling like you just ate a brick.

After a few attempts and searching, Pinterest finally came through for me: Strawberry-Buttermilk Sherbet. It isn’t as creamy as I thought it would be. It’s more like an icy dessert, but the flavor is great! It’s not too sweet, and it has the perfect amount of tartness. If you use all the correct ingredients, though, it might turn out a bit sweeter.

Strawberry-Buttermilk Sherbet
by Ann Taylor Pittman, Cooking Light MAY 2012

Ingredients
2 cups chopped strawberries
1/3 cup agave nectar Note: I didn’t have this on hand, so I used honey
1 1/2 cups whole buttermilk
3 tablespoons Chambord (raspberry-flavored liqueur) Note: I didn’t have this either, so I used white wine
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice (optional)

Preparation
Combine berries and nectar (or honey) in a blender; process until smooth (about 1 minute). Add buttermilk; process until well blended. Add liqueur (or wine); pulse to mix. Add juice, if desired. Chill mixture 1 hour. Pour into freezer can of an ice-cream freezer; freeze according to manufacturer’s instructions.

I’m sure you could make this using other fruits for some different flavors to combine. Regardles, this is a super easier, super delicious dish! I challenge you to make it and tell me how you like!

Leave a Reply

