Walnut Craisin Granola Recipe

I have some random items in my cupboard right now, most of which came from Costco, which means that I have A LOT of said items. I’ve been wanting to use them up, so cooking has been getting creative lately. We’ve been eating a lot of spinach-y meals including a Greek chicken, spinach and rice casserole (made with Greek yogurt and all other things nutritious) and a spinach and tomato-based pasta sauce (eaten with penne pasta). Both of which were super healthy and amazingly delicious.

But this post isn’t really about the spinach meals, mostly because I failed to take photos as I was preparing the dishes. (Again I say, it’s so awkward to photograph food preparation while you’re the one cooking!) This post is about the granola I just made. Like most recipes, I adapted and combined roughly 3 or 4 recipes I found. Plus, I tweaked the final outcome with my own little flare to accommodate the ingredients I had on hand and to make it less of a “guilty pleasure” and more of a wholesome food option. At least, that was the goal.

So, here’s the recipe!

Walnut Craisin Granola

4 cups oatmeal
1.5 cup chopped walnuts
1.5 cups dried fruit (I used 3 types of Craisins, including dried cranberries, cherries, and pomegranate seeds)
1 cup applesauce (most recipes called for EVOO, but I ran out and preferred, again, to keep things healthy)
.25 cup brown sugar
2 tbsp honey (I didn’t have honey, but in looking for the brown sugar, I found molasses. I used that instead!)
.5 tbsp cinnamon
.5 tbsp vanilla

Mix oatmeal, walnuts, and fruit in big mixing bowl and set aside.
Combine applesauce, brown sugar, honey, and cinnamon. Heat in microwave for 30 seconds, then mix in vanilla. Pour over dry ingredients and mix well.
Spread the mixture onto a large cookie sheet.
Bake at 250 for 15 min. Stir. Bake another 15 min. Stir. Continue until fully baked.

So, there you have it! Tweak as you see fit; it’s kind of hard to go wrong with granola.

p.s. This tastes amazing on its own or mixed with fresh fruit and Greek yogurt!!

p.p.s. As a side note, I think it’s time to throw out my dead flowers and get some new ones. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

