Brown Photography | Change Is In The Air

I know I haven’t posted in a while. A lot has been going on, and unfortunately only a little bit of that “a lot” has been due to photography. But, not unfortunately, the rest of it has been some pretty exciting stuff! I do have some big news toward the end of the post, so be sure to read to the bottom.

So, here’s a quick rundown.

It started about 3 or 4 weeks ago. I actually did have quite a few photo shoots around town, including an ROTC conference for the George C. Marshall Foundation, where I was able to photograph some pretty impressive speakers, amazing ROTC cadets, and Richard Petty who simply showed up at the VMI parade.

General Ray Odierno, Chief of Staff of the U.S. Army (left)
Richard Petty, NASCAR driver (right)
(A random pairing, I know, but seriously. These were taken on the same day!)

I also photographed a wedding or two with Kevin, a track meet, and a few other things, but mostly I’ve been helping Tyler get ready to graduate from law school! The big day was last Saturday, May 5. His parents, aunt, and uncle came to celebrate with us, and we had an absolutely fantastic time with all of them! Thank you all for making the trek from Iowa and Michigan for such a special time in our lives.

After graduation, Tyler and I left for a week with his parents to visit beautiful, historic Williamsburg. (We mostly just shopped and watched Downton Abbey, so I don’t have any photos of Williamsburg.) It was just what we needed, though! A change of scenery and some quality family time.

SO… Tyler and I just got back to normalcy on Monday. We’re staying in Lexington for the summer while he studies for the bar, but by the end of July we’ll be moving over to the coast. We aren’t 100% sure where yet. His job is in Hampton, VA, so it won’t be far from there.

Some of you might be wondering what this means for Brown Photography (and probably even Lifestyle Photography) here in Lexington. I don’t have a lot of details to share other than this: All jobs I’ve booked to this point and will book over the summer & into the fall will still be photographed by me with 100% of what I’ve got to give! Hampton isn’t far, so I plan to drive back over to the western side of the state whenever necessary. That being said, if you’d like to book a family photo shoot this summer, let’s plan a weekend now to ensure that everyone is available at the right time to make it happen!

Contact me today to book your session or simply just to learn more! And scope out my Family Portfolio and other blog posts to check out what you can expect from Brown Photography!

2 thoughts on “Brown Photography | Change Is In The Air

  1. Looks like y’all have gotten bitten by the VA bug & are sticking around!!! Congrats to Tyler on graduation! Congrats to you as well. Life seems so good & happy!!! If you are living in Hampton, you can get back to Williamsburg quickly & easily. What is Tyler going to be doing exactly??? We miss you.

    • Denise, I’ll email you with more of Tyler’s job details, but we’re excited about this upcoming change! I’ll still be coming back to Lexington quite a bit until the winter, but 3 hours isn’t bad AT ALL! And we really do love Virginia. I’ll miss living in the beautiful mountains, but I guess the ocean will do ;-) You and the fam will have to come vacation with us, though!

Leave a Reply

