30-Day Photo Challenge | Days 1–10

About a month ago, a dear friend of mine, Cheryl Shaffer of Lillypilly Photography , emailed a bunch of her friends asking who would want to take part in a 30-day photo challenge. I willingly accepted said challenge and am proud to say that I’m one of the few who finished it completely.

The concept is this: every day is a theme, and with each theme you take a photo and upload the unedited and edited versions to the Facebook group. In the caption, explain your original settings and how you edited the photo. I learned so much from the other photographers, and I was able to experiment with a bunch of shooting styles that I might not have practiced otherwise.

Thanks, Cheryl, for getting me out of my comfort zone and pushing my creativity and photographic knowledge!

Below are days 1–10.
For this series of three blogs, I’m only uploading the edited versions (unless I deem both unedited and edited versions worthy of the cause ;-), and I’m not planning on posting my camera settings or editing techniques. BUT if anyone has a question about a specific shot, please feel free to ask in the comments section! I’ll gladly provide that information!

That being said, here are the constants for each photo: my camera is a Nikon D3. I rotated among three lenses: my Nikon 60mm macro, f2.8 (most-used for this task); Nikon 70-200mm, f2.8; and a Nikon 17-35mm, f2.8; and I occasionally used my Nikon SB-800 Speedlight flash. I shoot in raw format and edit pics using Adobe Camera Raw.

And without further ado, here are the photos!

Day 1: Self Portrait

Day 2: What You Wore Today

This was the first time I'd experimented with a technique called "freelensing." I Love it!

Day 3: Clouds

Day 4: Something Green

Day 5: From a High Angle

(Another freelensing technique day. p.s. This is one of my two favorite photos from the whole 30-day series)

Day 6: From a Low Angle

Day 7: Fruit

Day 8: A Bad Habit

I have too many shoes ...

Day 9: Someone You Love

As a side note: Tyler, my husband, doesn't like having his picture taken. When I asked him if I could take his photo for this day's assignment, he said okay ... on one condition. Little did I know that he'd be pulling out his Big Foot costume for it. I love him.

Day 10: Childhood memory

Tirck-or-Treat!

5 thoughts on “30-Day Photo Challenge | Days 1–10

  1. Three things:
    Tyler is hilarious. What size do you wear? I might be able to take some of those bad habits off your conscience ;) And- you’ll have to tell me more about freelancing sometime.

    • Freelensing is awesome! Here’s a link to the tutorial I watched beforehand. What he fails to mention is to open up your aperture ring on the lens itself before you start. Let me know if you have questions. I’m no expert on freelensing, but I’ve been using it more and more! http://youtu.be/yIiXoNPzCtY

  2. Great series, I love your interpretation and composition of the challenge prompts. I think doing things like this is great for ones work – I may have to follow suit.

Leave a Reply

