Old Yell

Last week, I had the opportunity to shoot a few of the VMI Reunion days. Can I just say, I thoroughly enjoy shooting VMI events. The people are super great to interact with, and I love seeing the tradition of the culture and the sentiment of the current and former students.

Take this little tradition for example: Old Yell. Everyone gathers in the barracks, and the guys on the top of the … I’m not exactly sure what it’s called, but I’ll call it the turret … yell to their fellow cadets, who respond with a chant in unison – it reminds me of those high school pep rally days when everyone screams and shouts a chant for their team in anticipation of the big game that night! You can hear the excitement and rivalry among the cadets and alums, and it just pumps me up to document this moment!

Leave a Reply

