HDR … well, sort of.

A few days ago, I took this photo of my Murphy. It’s ok. Not necessarily the best- a bit bland. But I started playing around with it, messing with the settings; I shoot in RAW so I have more editing power, and I love Adobe Camera Raw, though some people tell me i need to invest in Lightroom. I’m sure I’ll try it at some point, but for now ACR is working amazingly well for me.

Anyway, I was kind of bored with the shot and just started pulling sliders to the extremes to see what I could get. I only had one shot to work with, and I don’t have PhotoMatix to create true High Dynamic Range effects (my version of Photoshop is simply inadequate, thought I’ve heard CS5 is pretty good!). But that’s the beauty of shooting in RAW- you can do nearly anything before an image begins to fall apart.

So between ACR and a few, fun Photoshop effects to heighten the “Is it an illustration or a photo?!?” experience, here’s what I came up with. I might mess with it a bit more, but for now, it is what it is. What do you think? Any suggestions?

Until another time, HAPPY WEDNESDAY!

2 thoughts on “HDR … well, sort of.

  1. Love the look! It’s fun to put a twist on photos. This affect taken from a single RAW file is often referred to as EDP or “Expanded Definition Processing” coined by Scott Kelby.

Leave a Reply

